In the 18th century this hotel used to be a coaching inn and it represents a History lesson in itself. It was called the “Hôtel de France” and became the “Hôtel de Paris” in 1855. It was the favourite address for a large number of learned persons from the higher realms of culture and politics. Even the stones have retained the memory of Prosper Mérimée who stayed here in 1836, of Jules Michelet the famous historian, and even of George Sand and Colette the unforgettable women writers. From this prestigious place the visitor can find the most remarkable monuments and museums.
It is also the starting point for nice walks in the historical town centre, hemmed in by the loop of the river Doubs.
The setting gives the feeling of a lively inhabited residence where spring generates a delicious woody smell, rising up from the two inner yards, with their totally safe car parks situated at the back of the buildings. On the shaded terrace the visitor enjoys a luxurious moment of calm and can have a quiet breakfast or relax after a busy day.
The view on the roof tops and on the forts which surround the town is fascinating. The sun glows into the quiet yards where the fifty rooms have been totally restored to offer a special moment beyond time. With its contemporary and ancient styles which coexist in harmony, the hotel breathes a real atmosphere of serenity.
One will appreciate the particular attention paid to the comfort of the bedrooms. The cosy lounges offer original spaces to rest and meditate and the fitness room is the good idea to keep up one’s form. Two well equipped rooms allow people to organize events and conferences in very good conditions.
Thanks to the young and dynamic new owners with their good elegant taste, this “hotel de charme” has become a spirited place with its three star service. It is now a jewel in the heart of Besançon.